Diplo Internet Governance Community

Stay networked. Get informed. Broadcast your projects.

Roundtable of European Parliamentary perspectives regarding internet governance

The aim of the roundtable was to present and expose the positions and perspectives of members of parliaments. Participants noted that there are quite many developments in Africa while Europe is behind. Everyone stressed that solution is the multistakeholders format and necessity of cooperation with civil society. Issue of net neutrality was one of the main issues touched by the participants.
One of the issues that were discussed during the roundtable was whether internet requires a special regulation, or the existing one can be applicable to it. Answers were different. Some participants saw the necessity of specific regulation, while other considered the one regulating press and broadcasting to be enough. There was one interesting example from experience of Italy, when there was an open debate with ergard the law and that public via interent could submit the comments.
Solutions offered by participants ware a dialogue in multistakeholder format, education and equal accessibility of everyone. As a concluding remark, it was stated that industry and government should take seriously the IGF; approach should be based and focused on human rights, it is an issue of public policy, IGF is important example and process and that it is a question of democracy.

Views: 71


You need to be a member of Diplo Internet Governance Community to add comments!

Join Diplo Internet Governance Community



Follow us

Website and downloads

Visit Diplo's IG website, www.diplomacy.edu/ig for info on programmes, events, and resources.

The full text of the book An Introduction to Internet Governance (6th edition) is available here. The translated versions in Serbian/BCS, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian, Chinese, and Portuguese are also available for download.


Karlene Francis (Jamaica)
Ivar Hartmann
Elona Taka (Albania)
Fahd Batayneh (Jordan)
Edward Muthiga (Kenya)
Nnenna Nwakanma (Côte d'Ivoire)
Xu Jing (China)
Gao Mosweu (Botswana)
Jamil Goheer (Pakistan)
Virginia (Ginger) Paque (Venezuela)
Tim Davies (UK)
Charity Gamboa-Embley (Philippines)
Rafik Dammak (Tunisia)
Jean-Yves Gatete (Burundi)
Guilherme Almeida (Brazil)
Magaly Pazello (Brazil)
Sergio Alves Júnior (Brazil)
Adela Danciu (Romania)
Simona Popa (Romania)
Marina Sokolova (Belarus)
Andreana Stankova (Bulgaria)
Vedran Djordjevic (Canada)
Maria Morozova (Ukraine)
David Kavanagh (Ireland)
Nino Gobronidze (Georgia)
Sorina Teleanu (Romania)
Cosmin Neagu (Romania)
Maja Rakovic (Serbia)
Elma Demir (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Tatiana Chirev (Moldova)
Maja Lubarda (Slovenia)
Babatope Soremi (Nigeria)
Marilia Maciel (Brazil)
Raquel Gatto (Brazil)
Andrés Piazza (Argentina)
Nevena Ruzic (Serbia)
Deirdre Williams (St. Lucia)
Maureen Hilyard (Cook Islands)
Monica Abalo (Argentina)
Emmanuel Edet (Nigeria)
Mwende Njiraini (Kenya)
Marsha Guthrie (Jamaica)
Kassim M. AL-Hassani (Iraq)
Marília Maciel (Brazil)
Alfonso Avila (Mexico)
Pascal Bekono (Cameroon)

© 2023   Created by Community Owner.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service