Diplo Internet Governance Community

Stay networked. Get informed. Broadcast your projects.

Hello everyone!

Please find below the invitation to the Youth and Workshop at the IGF Hyderabad. We would like to hear comments on this platform not just from members/friends who are attending but also those who are not attending! Join us and let us know what you think! Join our discussion on the Youth group: http://www.diplointernetgovernance.org/group/youth or join our discussions at: http://www.diplointernetgovernance.org/group/youth/forum/topics/the...

Best wishes,


Workshop No. 86: Youth and Internet Governance: Challenges for future?

Time: 11:00 am -12:30pm
Room: 4

Tentative Program:

The main aim of this youth panel is to highlight the youth leaders in the field of Internet Governance and hope to have a fruitful with experts on the work that is being done by these emerging leaders. Our selected themes represent the priority issues that have been identified during various debates and discussions among youth members from around the globe and we hope to work on these topics in future.

Our sub-themes for discussion for the youth panel are:

• Capacity Building for Young Leaders, Outreach issues
• Privacy issues: Role of social networking sites
• Prospects and problems of Participation, a look at Remote Participation Project
• Child Safety Online
• Youth as Digital Innovators


- Showcasing of Youth Leaders’ Projects/Work
- Opinion from our experts on issues affecting youth
- Discussion-Analysis of the projects for its challenges and possible solutions
- Recommendations: Possible way for the youth to move forward
- Conclusion


1- Introduction
2- Views from Youth Leaders/Youth Projects
3- Discussion
4- Views from Experts
5- Open session for Discussion


- Andrea Millwood Hargrave – Council of Europe
- Agnieszka Wrzesien-Nobody’s Children Foundation, Poland
- Marilia Maciel – Remote Participation Project , Brazil
- Nevine Tewfik- Ministry of Communication and Technology, Egypt
- Jan Malinowski – Council of Europe
- Katitza Roderiguez-EPIC
- Eddan Katz- Electronin Frontier Foundation
Moderator: Iffat Rose Gill, Peoples Development Organization, Pakistan

We look forward to see you at the workshop!

Best wishes,

Youth and IG Team

Views: 45


You need to be a member of Diplo Internet Governance Community to add comments!

Join Diplo Internet Governance Community

Comment by Azeem Sajjad on June 4, 2009 at 7:53am
Hi Ms. Gill,

Good work, keep it up.
Comment by Iffat Rose Gill on December 2, 2008 at 6:17pm
Thank you, hope your participation will be a great contribution as you are also working with youth!
Comment by NKURUNZIZA JEAN PAUL on December 2, 2008 at 6:00pm
Hello Rose Gill !
I am founder member of BYTC ( Burundi Youth Training Centre : www.bytc.bi , so I had scheduled to attend the workshop even before your invitation.
Thanks a lot for your invitation.



Follow us

Website and downloads

Visit Diplo's IG website, www.diplomacy.edu/ig for info on programmes, events, and resources.

The full text of the book An Introduction to Internet Governance (6th edition) is available here. The translated versions in Serbian/BCS, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian, Chinese, and Portuguese are also available for download.


Karlene Francis (Jamaica)
Ivar Hartmann
Elona Taka (Albania)
Fahd Batayneh (Jordan)
Edward Muthiga (Kenya)
Nnenna Nwakanma (Côte d'Ivoire)
Xu Jing (China)
Gao Mosweu (Botswana)
Jamil Goheer (Pakistan)
Virginia (Ginger) Paque (Venezuela)
Tim Davies (UK)
Charity Gamboa-Embley (Philippines)
Rafik Dammak (Tunisia)
Jean-Yves Gatete (Burundi)
Guilherme Almeida (Brazil)
Magaly Pazello (Brazil)
Sergio Alves Júnior (Brazil)
Adela Danciu (Romania)
Simona Popa (Romania)
Marina Sokolova (Belarus)
Andreana Stankova (Bulgaria)
Vedran Djordjevic (Canada)
Maria Morozova (Ukraine)
David Kavanagh (Ireland)
Nino Gobronidze (Georgia)
Sorina Teleanu (Romania)
Cosmin Neagu (Romania)
Maja Rakovic (Serbia)
Elma Demir (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Tatiana Chirev (Moldova)
Maja Lubarda (Slovenia)
Babatope Soremi (Nigeria)
Marilia Maciel (Brazil)
Raquel Gatto (Brazil)
Andrés Piazza (Argentina)
Nevena Ruzic (Serbia)
Deirdre Williams (St. Lucia)
Maureen Hilyard (Cook Islands)
Monica Abalo (Argentina)
Emmanuel Edet (Nigeria)
Mwende Njiraini (Kenya)
Marsha Guthrie (Jamaica)
Kassim M. AL-Hassani (Iraq)
Marília Maciel (Brazil)
Alfonso Avila (Mexico)
Pascal Bekono (Cameroon)

© 2021   Created by Community Owner.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service