Diplo Internet Governance Community

Stay networked. Get informed. Broadcast your projects.

Internet Society’s IGF 2011 Ambassador program

Dear colleagues:


IGF 2011 Ambassadors Programme – Call for Applications


The Internet Society is pleased to announce a call for applications to participate in the Internet Society (ISOC) Ambassador programme to the Internet Governance Forum (IGF) meeting in Nairobi, Kenya in September 2011.


As part of the Internet Society’s Next Generation Leaders programme, the IGF Ambassador programme is designed to involve members in ISOC’s global engagement activities while providing valuable expertise and know-how to the IGF meeting in Nairobi.  The Internet Society supports participation of first time Ambassadors as well as returning Ambassadors from Internet Governance Forums in Rio (2007), Hyderabad (2008), Sharm El Sheik (2009), and Vilnius (2010).


"Since the Internet Society started the IGF Ambassadors programme in Rio in 2007,” notes Toral Cowieson, Internet Society Senior Director of Internet Leadership Programmes, “the issues have become more complex and the stakes higher.  ISOC is committed to fostering rising and future decision-makers at the intersection of policy, technology, and business and our renewal of this programme recognizes that these multi-disciplinary leaders are at the core of the discussion of an open and robust Internet."


The IGF 2011 meeting will take place Tuesday 27 through Friday 30 September 2011. Interested individuals should be available to arrive no later than Saturday 24 September.


The deadline for applications is Friday, 27 May 2011.


The Next Generation Leaders programme, under the patronage of the European Commission for Information Society and Media, blends course work and practical experience to help prepare young professionals (aged from 20 to 40) from around the world to become the next generation of Internet technology, policy, and business leaders.

Further details on the Internet Society’s IGF 2011 Ambassador program are available here.  


For more information, see:

          • Next Generation Leaders programme

          • Internet Governance Forum


The Internet Society’s Next Generation Leaders programme is sponsored by Nominet Trust and AFNIC.


For more information on how to become a Next Generation Leader programme partner, visit http://www.isoc.org/leaders or e-mail leader-sponsor[at]isoc.org.


Connie J Kendig

Sponsored Programs & Grants Manager

Internet Society



What will the Internet look like in 10 years? 
Watch the trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OInTXcZ4HZM

For more information: www.internetsociety.org/scenarios


Views: 116


You need to be a member of Diplo Internet Governance Community to add comments!

Join Diplo Internet Governance Community



Follow us

Website and downloads

Visit Diplo's IG website, www.diplomacy.edu/ig for info on programmes, events, and resources.

The full text of the book An Introduction to Internet Governance (6th edition) is available here. The translated versions in Serbian/BCS, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian, Chinese, and Portuguese are also available for download.


Karlene Francis (Jamaica)
Ivar Hartmann
Elona Taka (Albania)
Fahd Batayneh (Jordan)
Edward Muthiga (Kenya)
Nnenna Nwakanma (Côte d'Ivoire)
Xu Jing (China)
Gao Mosweu (Botswana)
Jamil Goheer (Pakistan)
Virginia (Ginger) Paque (Venezuela)
Tim Davies (UK)
Charity Gamboa-Embley (Philippines)
Rafik Dammak (Tunisia)
Jean-Yves Gatete (Burundi)
Guilherme Almeida (Brazil)
Magaly Pazello (Brazil)
Sergio Alves Júnior (Brazil)
Adela Danciu (Romania)
Simona Popa (Romania)
Marina Sokolova (Belarus)
Andreana Stankova (Bulgaria)
Vedran Djordjevic (Canada)
Maria Morozova (Ukraine)
David Kavanagh (Ireland)
Nino Gobronidze (Georgia)
Sorina Teleanu (Romania)
Cosmin Neagu (Romania)
Maja Rakovic (Serbia)
Elma Demir (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Tatiana Chirev (Moldova)
Maja Lubarda (Slovenia)
Babatope Soremi (Nigeria)
Marilia Maciel (Brazil)
Raquel Gatto (Brazil)
Andrés Piazza (Argentina)
Nevena Ruzic (Serbia)
Deirdre Williams (St. Lucia)
Maureen Hilyard (Cook Islands)
Monica Abalo (Argentina)
Emmanuel Edet (Nigeria)
Mwende Njiraini (Kenya)
Marsha Guthrie (Jamaica)
Kassim M. AL-Hassani (Iraq)
Marília Maciel (Brazil)
Alfonso Avila (Mexico)
Pascal Bekono (Cameroon)

© 2022   Created by Community Owner.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service