Diplo Internet Governance Community

Stay networked. Get informed. Broadcast your projects.

Giganet call for papers 5th annual symposium

From Raquel Gatto:

Dear GigaNet members,

On behalf of the Program Committee, please find below our Call for Papers for the Fifth GigaNet Symposium, to be held on Vilnius, Lithuania on 13 September 2010. Since IGF is going to
happen early this year, we have a tight schedule to submissions and

I am grateful for the PC work and I hope to receive many submissions from GigaNet members in order to have an outsdating Symposium this

I kindly ask you to also disseminate broadly this CFP!

All the best, Raquel


13 September 2010

Vilnius, Lithuania


The Global Internet Governance Academic Network (GIGANET) is seeking submissions of research about Internet Governance to be
presented at the Fifth GigaNet Annual Symposium, on 13 September 2010,
held one
day before the United Nations Internet Governance Forum (IGF), in

GigaNet is a scholarly community that promotes the development of Internet Governance as a recognized, interdisciplinary field
of study and facilitates informed dialogue on policy issues and related
between scholars and governments, international organizations, the
sector and civil society. For more information, please visit

Since 2006, GigaNet has organized an Annual Symposium to showcase the research about Internet Governance, focusing on the
interdisciplinary approach. Prior successful symposia in Greece (2006),
(2007), India (2008) and Egypt (2009) lead us to the Fifth GigaNet
Symposium at Lithuania in 2010.


Interested scholars should submit abstracts of research papers no later than July 15th, 2010, through EasyChair platform at:


GigaNet is interested in receiving abstracts related to Internet Governance themes, especially those containing innovative
approaches and/or emerging research areas related to the following

1. Assessing the results, effectiveness and renewal process of the Internet Governance Forum;

2. The ICANN Affirmation of Commitment and its implications for the accountability of ICANN;

3. Policies for governing critical internet resources, such as IDNs, gTLDs, IPv4 and IPv6 addresses;

4. Intermediary responsibility in the Internet environment;

5. How copyright and trademark protection relate to Internet Governance, including new treaties such as ACTA;

6. Cyber-security and cyber-crime;

7. Implications of Internet Governance mechanisms and processes for development and developing countries;

8. Balance between openness, privacy and security from the Internet Governance perspective;

9. Innovative methods for Internet governance research.

10. Globally-applicable principles on public policy issues for Internet
Governance in the context of the Tunis Agenda and Geneva Declaration of

11. Multistakeholderism in Internet Governance: stakeholders, strategies of participation and collaboration including national and regional levels;


Paper proposals should be submitted following these requirements:

Ø An abstract of 800-1000 words, in English, where it is mandatory to describe the main research goal(s) and the methodological
background of the paper.

Ø A one page curriculum vitae focused on institutional affiliations, advanced degrees, scholarly publications and work
in the field of Internet Governance and related issues (for example

Evaluation Process

The Program Committee members will evaluate the abstracts submitted and decisions will be sent to applicants by e-mail on
August 1st.

Accepted papers for oral presentations should be followed by a full research paper by September 1st. Some quality papers submitted that are not
accepted for oral presentations will be recommended for poster

Publishing information

Accepted speakers and poster presenters’ submissions and final papers will be published on the GigaNet website.

Registration process

The GigaNet Annual Symposium is free of charge, although a registration process will be required close to the event. Please
continue visiting our website.

Program Committee

- Slavka Antonova, University of North Dakota, USA

- Lamees El Baghdady, Modern Sciences and Art University, Egypt

- Roy Balleste, St. Thomas University, USA

- Olga Cavalli, South SSIG, Argentina

- Dmitry Epstein, Cornell University, USA

- Marianne Franklin, University of London, UK

- Raquel Gatto - PC Chair, PUC-SP, Brazil

- Konstantinos Komaitis - Membership Chair, University of Strathclyde, UK

- Brenden Kuerbis - Communications Chair, Syracuse University, USA

- Nanette Levinson, American University, USA

- Milton Mueller - GigaNet Chair, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands

Short Schedule:

15 July: abstract submission deadline (no extension will be granted).

01 August: notification of acceptance.

01 September: deliverance of final papers.

13 September: Fifth GigaNet Annual Symposium.

Venue and accommodations

Please check the Vilnius UN Internet Governance Forum information at


If you have any question related to the submissions or the symposium activities, please e-mail giganetPC2010@gmail.com


Views: 189


You need to be a member of Diplo Internet Governance Community to add comments!

Join Diplo Internet Governance Community



Follow us

Website and downloads

Visit Diplo's IG website, www.diplomacy.edu/ig for info on programmes, events, and resources.

The full text of the book An Introduction to Internet Governance (6th edition) is available here. The translated versions in Serbian/BCS, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian, Chinese, and Portuguese are also available for download.


Karlene Francis (Jamaica)
Ivar Hartmann
Elona Taka (Albania)
Fahd Batayneh (Jordan)
Edward Muthiga (Kenya)
Nnenna Nwakanma (Côte d'Ivoire)
Xu Jing (China)
Gao Mosweu (Botswana)
Jamil Goheer (Pakistan)
Virginia (Ginger) Paque (Venezuela)
Tim Davies (UK)
Charity Gamboa-Embley (Philippines)
Rafik Dammak (Tunisia)
Jean-Yves Gatete (Burundi)
Guilherme Almeida (Brazil)
Magaly Pazello (Brazil)
Sergio Alves Júnior (Brazil)
Adela Danciu (Romania)
Simona Popa (Romania)
Marina Sokolova (Belarus)
Andreana Stankova (Bulgaria)
Vedran Djordjevic (Canada)
Maria Morozova (Ukraine)
David Kavanagh (Ireland)
Nino Gobronidze (Georgia)
Sorina Teleanu (Romania)
Cosmin Neagu (Romania)
Maja Rakovic (Serbia)
Elma Demir (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Tatiana Chirev (Moldova)
Maja Lubarda (Slovenia)
Babatope Soremi (Nigeria)
Marilia Maciel (Brazil)
Raquel Gatto (Brazil)
Andrés Piazza (Argentina)
Nevena Ruzic (Serbia)
Deirdre Williams (St. Lucia)
Maureen Hilyard (Cook Islands)
Monica Abalo (Argentina)
Emmanuel Edet (Nigeria)
Mwende Njiraini (Kenya)
Marsha Guthrie (Jamaica)
Kassim M. AL-Hassani (Iraq)
Marília Maciel (Brazil)
Alfonso Avila (Mexico)
Pascal Bekono (Cameroon)

© 2021   Created by Community Owner.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service