Diplo Internet Governance Community

Stay networked. Get informed. Broadcast your projects.

3rd EAIGF final day highlights and resolutions

The 3rd East African Internet Governance Forum ended today Friday 13th August. The following is summary of the issues discussed today and paraphrased resolutions of the forum.

Session 7: Emerging issues

  • Creation of viable framework for ICT skills enhancement. This would
    include regional mutual recognition of IT certification to foster acquisition
    of internationally compatible and competitive skills to take advantage of
    the regional integration and globalization.
  • Recognizing that the youth form over 50% of the population in East Africa, to forum recognized the need to support
    youth in ICT entrepreneurship and facilitate their engagement in the
    Internet-governance related policy making processes.
  • Emphasis to strengthen existing ccTLDs in light of other gTLD initiatives in the continent including the Dot
    Africa initiative. The dot Africa
    was presented as a compliment rather than a competitor to existing ccTLDs.
  • Code of Good Practice and its application to Internet Governance guidelines was presented. The
    aim of the code is to improve information, participation, transparency
    and inclusive
    engagement of IG-related entities in their arrangements and practices.

Session 8: Way Forward

Some of resolutions of the forum are paraphrased below:

  1. Formation of a working group to develop strategies to strengthen ccTLDs in the region in light of
    competition for gTLDs and determine the business case for the .eac domain.
  2. Registration of the EAIGF domain name (.ug .tz .rw .bi) all pointing to www.eaigf.or.ke
  3. East African countries ratify the United
    Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea
    . Relevant sections of the Convention in view of submarine cables include Part VI; Article 79 and Part VII; Article 87(c) and Article 112.
  4. EAIGF host a knowledge management repository for that IG-relevant information from national and regional organisations in particular East African Communications Organization (EACO)
  5. Support of the creation of a regional exchange point and [taking into cognizance the local context develop harmonized IPv6 transition strategies]
  6. Adoption of unified strategies in initiatives including youth initiatives, mutual recognition IT skills
    certification, new gTLDs, among others.
  7. Utilize the Code of practice as a tool for achieving balanced participation and carry forward IG-related resolutions of and recommendations from organisation and country in the region.
  8. 4th EAIGF to be hosted in Rwanda and a call for support for the Kenya’s bid to host the UN-IGF in
    2011 in the event that the UN-IGF’s mandate is extended.

Views: 76


You need to be a member of Diplo Internet Governance Community to add comments!

Join Diplo Internet Governance Community



Follow us

Website and downloads

Visit Diplo's IG website, www.diplomacy.edu/ig for info on programmes, events, and resources.

The full text of the book An Introduction to Internet Governance (6th edition) is available here. The translated versions in Serbian/BCS, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian, Chinese, and Portuguese are also available for download.


Karlene Francis (Jamaica)
Ivar Hartmann
Elona Taka (Albania)
Fahd Batayneh (Jordan)
Edward Muthiga (Kenya)
Nnenna Nwakanma (Côte d'Ivoire)
Xu Jing (China)
Gao Mosweu (Botswana)
Jamil Goheer (Pakistan)
Virginia (Ginger) Paque (Venezuela)
Tim Davies (UK)
Charity Gamboa-Embley (Philippines)
Rafik Dammak (Tunisia)
Jean-Yves Gatete (Burundi)
Guilherme Almeida (Brazil)
Magaly Pazello (Brazil)
Sergio Alves Júnior (Brazil)
Adela Danciu (Romania)
Simona Popa (Romania)
Marina Sokolova (Belarus)
Andreana Stankova (Bulgaria)
Vedran Djordjevic (Canada)
Maria Morozova (Ukraine)
David Kavanagh (Ireland)
Nino Gobronidze (Georgia)
Sorina Teleanu (Romania)
Cosmin Neagu (Romania)
Maja Rakovic (Serbia)
Elma Demir (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Tatiana Chirev (Moldova)
Maja Lubarda (Slovenia)
Babatope Soremi (Nigeria)
Marilia Maciel (Brazil)
Raquel Gatto (Brazil)
Andrés Piazza (Argentina)
Nevena Ruzic (Serbia)
Deirdre Williams (St. Lucia)
Maureen Hilyard (Cook Islands)
Monica Abalo (Argentina)
Emmanuel Edet (Nigeria)
Mwende Njiraini (Kenya)
Marsha Guthrie (Jamaica)
Kassim M. AL-Hassani (Iraq)
Marília Maciel (Brazil)
Alfonso Avila (Mexico)
Pascal Bekono (Cameroon)

© 2021   Created by Community Owner.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service