Diplo Internet Governance Community

Stay networked. Get informed. Broadcast your projects.

Keeping Children and Young People Safe Online

The 2nd International Conference "Keeping Children and Young People Safe Online", took place in Warsaw, on 18-19 September 2008, and IGCBP'08 community member Agnieszka Wrzesień, Project Coordinator for the Saferinternet.pl - Polish Safer Internet Node was the chair of the Organising Committee representing Nobody's Children Foundation.

The conference brought together representatives from the education sector, NGOs, law enforcement, government and industry. It addressed a wide variety of issues relating to children and young people's safety online, such as cyberbullying, social networking sites, child safety and mobile phones, and online gaming. The conference raised awareness of the new challenges and opportunities in fighting Internet threats and helped sharing best practices across different sectors.

IGCBP'08 community member Thiago Tavares, who has been leading the work against pedophily in Brazil also attended the conference after the IGF Open Consultations in Geneva.

Paper abstracts of the conference are available at http://www.saferinternet.pl/abstractsii/

Views: 33


You need to be a member of Diplo Internet Governance Community to add comments!

Join Diplo Internet Governance Community



Follow us

Website and downloads

Visit Diplo's IG website, www.diplomacy.edu/ig for info on programmes, events, and resources.

The full text of the book An Introduction to Internet Governance (6th edition) is available here. The translated versions in Serbian/BCS, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian, Chinese, and Portuguese are also available for download.


Karlene Francis (Jamaica)
Ivar Hartmann
Elona Taka (Albania)
Fahd Batayneh (Jordan)
Edward Muthiga (Kenya)
Nnenna Nwakanma (Côte d'Ivoire)
Xu Jing (China)
Gao Mosweu (Botswana)
Jamil Goheer (Pakistan)
Virginia (Ginger) Paque (Venezuela)
Tim Davies (UK)
Charity Gamboa-Embley (Philippines)
Rafik Dammak (Tunisia)
Jean-Yves Gatete (Burundi)
Guilherme Almeida (Brazil)
Magaly Pazello (Brazil)
Sergio Alves Júnior (Brazil)
Adela Danciu (Romania)
Simona Popa (Romania)
Marina Sokolova (Belarus)
Andreana Stankova (Bulgaria)
Vedran Djordjevic (Canada)
Maria Morozova (Ukraine)
David Kavanagh (Ireland)
Nino Gobronidze (Georgia)
Sorina Teleanu (Romania)
Cosmin Neagu (Romania)
Maja Rakovic (Serbia)
Elma Demir (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Tatiana Chirev (Moldova)
Maja Lubarda (Slovenia)
Babatope Soremi (Nigeria)
Marilia Maciel (Brazil)
Raquel Gatto (Brazil)
Andrés Piazza (Argentina)
Nevena Ruzic (Serbia)
Deirdre Williams (St. Lucia)
Maureen Hilyard (Cook Islands)
Monica Abalo (Argentina)
Emmanuel Edet (Nigeria)
Mwende Njiraini (Kenya)
Marsha Guthrie (Jamaica)
Kassim M. AL-Hassani (Iraq)
Marília Maciel (Brazil)
Alfonso Avila (Mexico)
Pascal Bekono (Cameroon)

© 2023   Created by Community Owner.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service