Diplo Internet Governance Community

Stay networked. Get informed. Broadcast your projects.

The East African Internet Governance Forum (EAIGF) 2009

Am attending the EAIGF 2009. Nairobi, Kenya 7th-9th September 2009 which has brought together the countries of Kenya (Host), Tanzania, Burundi, Rwanda, Uganda and an observing South Sudan. UN-IGF's Markus Kummer and Rt. Alun Michaek, Member of Parliament, UK were in attendance.

The sessions read: 1. access on broadband country reports and opportunities and challenges of broadband in East Africa and seeking an East African broadband policy framework; 2. National IGF country reports facilitated by Ms. Mwende Njirani; 3. access and issues on cyber security, trust and privacy; 4. policy, legal and regulatory issues; 5. critical internet resources; 6. consumer issues; wayforward for East Africa and a special parliamentarian IG luncheon and workshop.

One get a chance to network. Wonderfu session I must add. I hope South Sudan shall be having more DiploFoundation Internet Governance Capacity Building 2010 candidates.

Views: 71


You need to be a member of Diplo Internet Governance Community to add comments!

Join Diplo Internet Governance Community

Comment by Henry Owera on September 16, 2009 at 3:24pm
Nkurunziz, one hopes Mwende has those pictures. I am hoping for among things, those photos, and the report. I am accessing the EAIGF website but haven't got the reports as yet. True, the sessions on consumer issues were so insightful.
Comment by NKURUNZIZA JEAN PAUL on September 14, 2009 at 10:39am
can anyone share a photo of Diplo fellows attending the second EAIGF ?
Comment by NKURUNZIZA JEAN PAUL on September 9, 2009 at 2:29pm
The 2and EAIGF has just ended in Nairobi.
I couldjoin it late ( I just attended the sessions of September 8th afternoon, and the session of the morning 9th session. ( This because I had just arrived back from Monterrey ( Mexico) UN GAID Global forum.
It's sad I couldn't attend the hole sessions.
I can say it was a real success as many participants from Burundi ( my native country0could attend ( last year, no one from Burundi could attend ( mainly members of ISOC Burundi)
Other participants include Government representative, a member of regulatory authority of Burundi.
I was really impressed by a participant from Burundi who presented a session on consumer's rights. He personally testified me that when I talked him about IG issues for the first time, he was not really interested about this field. But, now, he is getting more and more interested !
Comment by Henry Owera on September 8, 2009 at 1:46pm
Melissa, an IGF is at your own door step! I know your hands are some what tied.
Comment by Melissa Nanjaya Makokha on September 8, 2009 at 12:37pm
you in my country....its a shame i cant make it for any of these....i hope i make it to Sham el Sheik though!



Follow us

Website and downloads

Visit Diplo's IG website, www.diplomacy.edu/ig for info on programmes, events, and resources.

The full text of the book An Introduction to Internet Governance (6th edition) is available here. The translated versions in Serbian/BCS, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian, Chinese, and Portuguese are also available for download.


Karlene Francis (Jamaica)
Ivar Hartmann
Elona Taka (Albania)
Fahd Batayneh (Jordan)
Edward Muthiga (Kenya)
Nnenna Nwakanma (Côte d'Ivoire)
Xu Jing (China)
Gao Mosweu (Botswana)
Jamil Goheer (Pakistan)
Virginia (Ginger) Paque (Venezuela)
Tim Davies (UK)
Charity Gamboa-Embley (Philippines)
Rafik Dammak (Tunisia)
Jean-Yves Gatete (Burundi)
Guilherme Almeida (Brazil)
Magaly Pazello (Brazil)
Sergio Alves Júnior (Brazil)
Adela Danciu (Romania)
Simona Popa (Romania)
Marina Sokolova (Belarus)
Andreana Stankova (Bulgaria)
Vedran Djordjevic (Canada)
Maria Morozova (Ukraine)
David Kavanagh (Ireland)
Nino Gobronidze (Georgia)
Sorina Teleanu (Romania)
Cosmin Neagu (Romania)
Maja Rakovic (Serbia)
Elma Demir (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Tatiana Chirev (Moldova)
Maja Lubarda (Slovenia)
Babatope Soremi (Nigeria)
Marilia Maciel (Brazil)
Raquel Gatto (Brazil)
Andrés Piazza (Argentina)
Nevena Ruzic (Serbia)
Deirdre Williams (St. Lucia)
Maureen Hilyard (Cook Islands)
Monica Abalo (Argentina)
Emmanuel Edet (Nigeria)
Mwende Njiraini (Kenya)
Marsha Guthrie (Jamaica)
Kassim M. AL-Hassani (Iraq)
Marília Maciel (Brazil)
Alfonso Avila (Mexico)
Pascal Bekono (Cameroon)

© 2021   Created by Community Owner.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service