Diplo Internet Governance Community

Stay networked. Get informed. Broadcast your projects.

The CTU’s 10th Caribbean Ministerial Strategic ICT Seminar

Do you have any questions or concerns that you would like posed at this event? Please leave them in the comment box below...

For Immediate Release. 23 May 2012

The Caribbean Telecommunications Union (CTU) will be hosting its 10th Ministerial Strategic Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Seminar from the 28th to 29th May, 2012 in Miami, Florida.

The CTU’s Ministerial Strategic ICT Seminars have been designed to create a forum for industry players to explain emerging technologies and their impact on diverse spheres of operations; to hear the concerns of Government officials, Policy Makers and Regulators; and to provide the necessary insight for informed decision making. This Seminar will focus on the critical issues of the Caribbean Region’s participation in activities of the international ICT community and on regional Cyber Security.

The CTU is the Caribbean’s inter-governmental policy institution responsible for Internet Governance (IG). Cyber security is one of 5 strategic areas the CTU is addressing under its Caribbean Internet Governance Policy Framework. The Seminar will explain different mechanisms available to Caribbean countries to enhance their level of participation in international ICT activities and organisations.  Day 2 of the Seminar will utilize the ‘Comprehensive Inter-American Strategy to Combat Threats to Cybersecurity’, a resolution adopted by the Organisation of American States (OAS) countries, as a basis for outlining a more immediate Caribbean plan of action on cyber security.  Pedro Paixao, Vice President of International Sales of Fortinet, one of the major sponsors of the event and a leader in the network security industry, believes that “in today's increasingly connected world, governments need to be ready to protect, respond and recover from directed cyber attacks, against their critical infrastructure and private citizens.”

The seminar will feature speakers from, and is supported by, organizations such as the Inter-American Committee Against Terrorism (CICTE), Packet Clearing House (PCH), American Registry for Internet Numbers (ARIN), Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN), The Internet Society (ISOC), COMNET Foundation for ICT Development, US Department of Justice (USDOJ), the International Telecommunications Union (ITU), Latin American and Caribbean Internet Addresses Registry (LACNIC), Fortinet, CSU Industries and Google Inc.

The keynote address will be given by Dr. Jovan Kurbalija, Director of DiploFoundation and author of the book, Internet Governance.  The Seminar is also being supported by Google Inc.  Dr. Patrick Ryan, Policy Counsel for Google, believes the Seminar is important because “it enables a necessary, open debate about the future of Internet governance and an opportunity to hear concerns, like ours, about moving Internet regulation away from the current multistakeholder system.”

The 2-day Seminar will end with a tour of a Terremark tier IV data centre in Miami, during which participants will see first-hand the cutting edge technologies available on the market.

Participants of the Seminar, who will be representing 14 different countries in the Caribbean, will include Ministers responsible for ICT, Permanent Secretaries, Telecommunications Regulators, Network Operators and top ICT Industry executives.

For more information on this event please contact the CTU Secretariat at 1 868 627 0347.


Views: 172


You need to be a member of Diplo Internet Governance Community to add comments!

Join Diplo Internet Governance Community



Follow us

Website and downloads

Visit Diplo's IG website, www.diplomacy.edu/ig for info on programmes, events, and resources.

The full text of the book An Introduction to Internet Governance (6th edition) is available here. The translated versions in Serbian/BCS, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian, Chinese, and Portuguese are also available for download.


Karlene Francis (Jamaica)
Ivar Hartmann
Elona Taka (Albania)
Fahd Batayneh (Jordan)
Edward Muthiga (Kenya)
Nnenna Nwakanma (Côte d'Ivoire)
Xu Jing (China)
Gao Mosweu (Botswana)
Jamil Goheer (Pakistan)
Virginia (Ginger) Paque (Venezuela)
Tim Davies (UK)
Charity Gamboa-Embley (Philippines)
Rafik Dammak (Tunisia)
Jean-Yves Gatete (Burundi)
Guilherme Almeida (Brazil)
Magaly Pazello (Brazil)
Sergio Alves Júnior (Brazil)
Adela Danciu (Romania)
Simona Popa (Romania)
Marina Sokolova (Belarus)
Andreana Stankova (Bulgaria)
Vedran Djordjevic (Canada)
Maria Morozova (Ukraine)
David Kavanagh (Ireland)
Nino Gobronidze (Georgia)
Sorina Teleanu (Romania)
Cosmin Neagu (Romania)
Maja Rakovic (Serbia)
Elma Demir (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Tatiana Chirev (Moldova)
Maja Lubarda (Slovenia)
Babatope Soremi (Nigeria)
Marilia Maciel (Brazil)
Raquel Gatto (Brazil)
Andrés Piazza (Argentina)
Nevena Ruzic (Serbia)
Deirdre Williams (St. Lucia)
Maureen Hilyard (Cook Islands)
Monica Abalo (Argentina)
Emmanuel Edet (Nigeria)
Mwende Njiraini (Kenya)
Marsha Guthrie (Jamaica)
Kassim M. AL-Hassani (Iraq)
Marília Maciel (Brazil)
Alfonso Avila (Mexico)
Pascal Bekono (Cameroon)

© 2022   Created by Community Owner.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service