Diplo Internet Governance Community

Stay networked. Get informed. Broadcast your projects.

Please review to see whether I have met deadline requirements.

Submission Template:


Title:  Mrs

Surname:   Deirdre

First name:  Williams

Other names:   -

Job Title(s)  Independent Consultant


Organization(s):  Internet Governance Caucus; Caribbean ICT Virtual Community (CIVIC)


City of Residence:   Castries

Country of Residence:  Saint Lucia

Nationality:   Saint Lucian/British

Stakeholder Group:  Civil Society

Contact Email: williams.deirdre@gmail.com

Contact Telephone: 1-758-452-6117 (home); 1-758-716-1728 (mobile)

Brief relevant biography of not more than 300 words ) I have been working with possibilities of computers and development since the late 1980s. Meanwhile I have had an extensive involvement with civil society organizations in Saint Lucia and, to an extent, in the wider Caribbean. My interests are fairly catholic and include conservation and preservation, the natural world, the advancement of young people, improving conditions for the physically and socially disadvantaged, creative and performing arts, and the management and dissemination of information (I am a qualified librarian).

Since 2010 I have had the chance to follow discussions on proposals to harmonise legislation and policy in this region, mainly arranged through the International Telecommunications Union HIPCAR project, but also local initiatives through the National Telecommunications Regulatory Commission, and the sub-regional Eastern Caribbean Regulatory Authority. I have followed several DiploFoundation courses successfully.


In 2007 I was one of the first set of Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) Fellowship holders, for the meeting in Puerto Rico. I have attended four Internet Governance Forums (IGF) – Hyderabad, Sharm el Sheikh and Vilnius physically, and Nairobi last year remotely, the Latin America and Caribbean preparatory IGF meetings in Rio (2009), Quito (2010) and Trinidad (2011), and the Caribbean IGFs of the same years in St Kitts, St Martin and Trinidad. I have also attended the two Saint Lucia IGFs – 2010 and 2011, and the initial and second Caribbean Network Operators’ Group meetings (CARIBNOG) I have also attended the Open Consultations (remotely) whenever it was possible.


Having spent the last week fighting for the future of remote participation, I feel that it should be possible for me to make the necessary inputs to the MAG meetings even if it is not possible to obtain funding for travel. Caribbean civil society needs a voice; I would be very honoured to supply it.





Name put forward by:




Contact email :


Contact Telephone:


Views: 99


You need to be a member of Diplo Internet Governance Community to add comments!

Join Diplo Internet Governance Community



Follow us

Website and downloads

Visit Diplo's IG website, www.diplomacy.edu/ig for info on programmes, events, and resources.

The full text of the book An Introduction to Internet Governance (6th edition) is available here. The translated versions in Serbian/BCS, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian, Chinese, and Portuguese are also available for download.


Karlene Francis (Jamaica)
Ivar Hartmann
Elona Taka (Albania)
Fahd Batayneh (Jordan)
Edward Muthiga (Kenya)
Nnenna Nwakanma (Côte d'Ivoire)
Xu Jing (China)
Gao Mosweu (Botswana)
Jamil Goheer (Pakistan)
Virginia (Ginger) Paque (Venezuela)
Tim Davies (UK)
Charity Gamboa-Embley (Philippines)
Rafik Dammak (Tunisia)
Jean-Yves Gatete (Burundi)
Guilherme Almeida (Brazil)
Magaly Pazello (Brazil)
Sergio Alves Júnior (Brazil)
Adela Danciu (Romania)
Simona Popa (Romania)
Marina Sokolova (Belarus)
Andreana Stankova (Bulgaria)
Vedran Djordjevic (Canada)
Maria Morozova (Ukraine)
David Kavanagh (Ireland)
Nino Gobronidze (Georgia)
Sorina Teleanu (Romania)
Cosmin Neagu (Romania)
Maja Rakovic (Serbia)
Elma Demir (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Tatiana Chirev (Moldova)
Maja Lubarda (Slovenia)
Babatope Soremi (Nigeria)
Marilia Maciel (Brazil)
Raquel Gatto (Brazil)
Andrés Piazza (Argentina)
Nevena Ruzic (Serbia)
Deirdre Williams (St. Lucia)
Maureen Hilyard (Cook Islands)
Monica Abalo (Argentina)
Emmanuel Edet (Nigeria)
Mwende Njiraini (Kenya)
Marsha Guthrie (Jamaica)
Kassim M. AL-Hassani (Iraq)
Marília Maciel (Brazil)
Alfonso Avila (Mexico)
Pascal Bekono (Cameroon)

© 2020   Created by Community Owner.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service