Diplo Internet Governance Community

Stay networked. Get informed. Broadcast your projects.

RESULTS: Diplo Community endorsement for 2015 IGF MAG renewal

Colleagues, thank you for participating in the MAG nomination process on this IG community space, and especially, thank you to our nominees for self-nominating themselves to serve.

The poll closed earlier today, with the votes being one of the contributing factors for endorsement. The full list of nominees considered for Diplo endorsement are here.

The nominees to be recommended to the Civil Society Coordination Group (CSCG) by the Diplo Community, based on the endorsement factors explained below, are (in alphabetical order):

Ileleji Poncelet

Kissangou Jean Philemon

McCarthy Kieren

Nkurunziza Jean Paul

Paque Virginia

Sakalova Marianne

Schombe Baudouin

Williams Deirdre

While the poll asked community members to vote for up to five nominees, the results showed strong endorsement for the above eight nominees. Congratulations to our endorsed nominees!

As explained in the original call, endorsement of MAG nominees from the DiploFoundation community was based on the following factors:

40% representing results of the community poll;

+ up to 20% for IG experience, competence and experience in IG (based on the information submitted by the candidates in their nomination blog post);

+ 10% for nominees from least developing countries (to encourage participation from LDCs);

+ 10% for nominees from small island developing states (since Diplo's early days in Malta, support for small island states has been a Diplo development priority; they are under-represented, and highly dependent on the Internet, in part, due to the geographical remoteness);

+ 10% for nominees from countries which have not been represented on the MAG thus far (Increasing geographical diversification by encouraging those whose countries have never been represented is important, and helps contribute to global engagement and awareness building);

+ 10% to support women in IG processes, in particular, the MAG.

The calculation spreadsheet is available for review. Please email me (stephaniep@diplomacy.edu) for the link if you would like to review it.

Once again, congratulations to those who have been endorsed, and thanks to everyone who participated in the poll. Remember that even those who are not endorsed by the Diplo Community will still be considered by the Nominating Committee at UN DESA/IGF Secretariat.

Views: 255


You need to be a member of Diplo Internet Governance Community to add comments!

Join Diplo Internet Governance Community

Comment by Fatima Cambronero on September 30, 2014 at 3:06pm

Congrats to all who participated in the process and those who have been selected. Good luck!

Comment by Poncelet O. Ileleji on September 30, 2014 at 2:57pm

Thanks to all those who supported my candidacy and am very proud to be endorsed by the Diplo Community.

Comment by Virginia (Ginger) Paque on September 30, 2014 at 1:38pm

Thanks to all who self-nominated, and to all who participated in IG by joining this the process. I appreciate the trust you have given me, and am proud to be endorsed by the Diplo Community, whether I am selected for the MAG or not. In any case, we are already working towards IGF 2015. What are your goals for IG in 2015? Best wishes and good energy, Ginger

Comment by Stephanie on September 30, 2014 at 12:48pm

To all those wishing to be considered for 2015 MAG (even if they have not been nominated or endorsed by the community): please remember to submit your application to the Secretariat using the form available on the IGF website at http://www.intgovforum.org/cms/mag-nomination. Congratulations, and good luck!

Comment by Deirdre Williams on September 30, 2014 at 3:27am

Congratulations and best wishes both to those originally nominated and to those who have won endorsements.

Special thanks to those of you who supported my candidacy.




Follow us

Website and downloads

Visit Diplo's IG website, www.diplomacy.edu/ig for info on programmes, events, and resources.

The full text of the book An Introduction to Internet Governance (6th edition) is available here. The translated versions in Serbian/BCS, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian, Chinese, and Portuguese are also available for download.


Karlene Francis (Jamaica)
Ivar Hartmann
Elona Taka (Albania)
Fahd Batayneh (Jordan)
Edward Muthiga (Kenya)
Nnenna Nwakanma (Côte d'Ivoire)
Xu Jing (China)
Gao Mosweu (Botswana)
Jamil Goheer (Pakistan)
Virginia (Ginger) Paque (Venezuela)
Tim Davies (UK)
Charity Gamboa-Embley (Philippines)
Rafik Dammak (Tunisia)
Jean-Yves Gatete (Burundi)
Guilherme Almeida (Brazil)
Magaly Pazello (Brazil)
Sergio Alves Júnior (Brazil)
Adela Danciu (Romania)
Simona Popa (Romania)
Marina Sokolova (Belarus)
Andreana Stankova (Bulgaria)
Vedran Djordjevic (Canada)
Maria Morozova (Ukraine)
David Kavanagh (Ireland)
Nino Gobronidze (Georgia)
Sorina Teleanu (Romania)
Cosmin Neagu (Romania)
Maja Rakovic (Serbia)
Elma Demir (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Tatiana Chirev (Moldova)
Maja Lubarda (Slovenia)
Babatope Soremi (Nigeria)
Marilia Maciel (Brazil)
Raquel Gatto (Brazil)
Andrés Piazza (Argentina)
Nevena Ruzic (Serbia)
Deirdre Williams (St. Lucia)
Maureen Hilyard (Cook Islands)
Monica Abalo (Argentina)
Emmanuel Edet (Nigeria)
Mwende Njiraini (Kenya)
Marsha Guthrie (Jamaica)
Kassim M. AL-Hassani (Iraq)
Marília Maciel (Brazil)
Alfonso Avila (Mexico)
Pascal Bekono (Cameroon)

© 2023   Created by Community Owner.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service