Diplo Internet Governance Community

Stay networked. Get informed. Broadcast your projects.

Persuasion, the essence of Diplomacy

Just stumbled upon this:


In the coming months, Professor Dietrich Kappeler will conclude his 50-year career as a practitioner and teacher of diplomacy. Over the years he has taught thousands of diplomats, from nearly all the countries of the world. Professor Kappeler will also retire from his post as President of DiploFoundation.

A Farewell Symposium will be held in Malta on February 12, 2009 to mark this occasion, featuring discussion on the theme of “Persuasion – The Essence of Diplomacy." The Symposium will be attended by the Maltese students and dignitaries who helped Professor Kappeler establish two prestigious institutions in the field of diplomatic training: the Mediterranean Academy of Diplomatic Studies and DiploFoundation.

For Professor Kappeler's former students and colleagues worldwide, we are offering a farewell discussion online. You can contribute to this discussion with your reflections on the theme "Persuasion - The Essence of Diplomacy". Please send us your contribution of up to five pages. All submitted contributions will be posted online, while selected contributions will be published in 2009.

More information HERE

Views: 88


You need to be a member of Diplo Internet Governance Community to add comments!

Join Diplo Internet Governance Community



Follow us

Website and downloads

Visit Diplo's IG website, www.diplomacy.edu/ig for info on programmes, events, and resources.

The full text of the book An Introduction to Internet Governance (6th edition) is available here. The translated versions in Serbian/BCS, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian, Chinese, and Portuguese are also available for download.


Karlene Francis (Jamaica)
Ivar Hartmann
Elona Taka (Albania)
Fahd Batayneh (Jordan)
Edward Muthiga (Kenya)
Nnenna Nwakanma (Côte d'Ivoire)
Xu Jing (China)
Gao Mosweu (Botswana)
Jamil Goheer (Pakistan)
Virginia (Ginger) Paque (Venezuela)
Tim Davies (UK)
Charity Gamboa-Embley (Philippines)
Rafik Dammak (Tunisia)
Jean-Yves Gatete (Burundi)
Guilherme Almeida (Brazil)
Magaly Pazello (Brazil)
Sergio Alves Júnior (Brazil)
Adela Danciu (Romania)
Simona Popa (Romania)
Marina Sokolova (Belarus)
Andreana Stankova (Bulgaria)
Vedran Djordjevic (Canada)
Maria Morozova (Ukraine)
David Kavanagh (Ireland)
Nino Gobronidze (Georgia)
Sorina Teleanu (Romania)
Cosmin Neagu (Romania)
Maja Rakovic (Serbia)
Elma Demir (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Tatiana Chirev (Moldova)
Maja Lubarda (Slovenia)
Babatope Soremi (Nigeria)
Marilia Maciel (Brazil)
Raquel Gatto (Brazil)
Andrés Piazza (Argentina)
Nevena Ruzic (Serbia)
Deirdre Williams (St. Lucia)
Maureen Hilyard (Cook Islands)
Monica Abalo (Argentina)
Emmanuel Edet (Nigeria)
Mwende Njiraini (Kenya)
Marsha Guthrie (Jamaica)
Kassim M. AL-Hassani (Iraq)
Marília Maciel (Brazil)
Alfonso Avila (Mexico)
Pascal Bekono (Cameroon)

© 2019   Created by Community Owner.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service