Diplo Internet Governance Community

Stay networked. Get informed. Broadcast your projects.

Needed: Civil Society nominees for 1Net Steering Committee

DiploFoundation is a global non-profit organisation that has been focusing on IG policy issues since 1994. Diplo has been one of the key players in the WSIS process by providing capacity building, training, and research on digital policy issues. We work in groups such as the WGIG, IGC, MAG, IGF, and others. In June 2006, Diplo was granted Special Consultative Status with the UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC). Diplo places a high importance on capacity building and dissemination of information. We work to provide resources and tools to those working in IG, and to offer a safe discussion environment where issues can be analysed as substantive positions are formed. We do this principally through online courses and research.

Although it is not an advocacy group per se, Diplo featured in the World e-Democracy Forum’s list of ‘Top 10 who are changing the world of Internet and Politics’ in 2009 and in 2012, it was selected as one of the ‘Top 100 NGOs’ based on its impact, innovation, and sustainability. We work to strengthen informed multistakeholder participation, particularly from underrepresented groups and regions. Your individual engagement in this process is important.

Diplo forms part of the emerging Civil Society Coordination Committee, which seeks to support inclusion of CS in global steering committees and representation on multistakeholder IG initiatives using legitimate, transparent nomination processes, as well as coordination of other CS issues. We ask you to join us in supporting the CS voice, as we seek nominations for CS representatives for the 1Net Steering Committee, for submission to the Civil Society Coordination Committee. For more information about the 1Net initiative, see http://1net.org/ and http://www.circleid.com/posts/2013112_what_is_1net_to_me

Once again, we ask that you put your expertise to use. If so inclined, volunteer to represent civil society and the Diplo Community. If you cannot serve yourself, please join in this process to encourage appropriate qualified people to step forward. Due to very tight deadlines, after a very short self-nomination period, until 1200 noon UTC 7 December, we will ask this community to choose candidates. Here is the process:

1. Your application

You are asked to submit your own application and post it to the Diplo community, including a short biographical background, and the reasons why you think that you can contribute to the 1Net Steering Committee, whom you represent (in terms of communities, ideas, projects), what perspectives you can bring to the discussion, and what you would like to achieve. Self-nomination is important: it indicates willingness and self-confidence; it has great legitimacy; and it is free from pressure, in the true spirit of volunteerism.

Important: Nominees must have experience in previous WSIS/IGF processes, and have sufficient time to dedicate to duties as a 1Net Steering Committee member. Discussions will take place by e-mail during their tenure, and nominees must have time available to attend to this volume of discussions promptly. If you are selected, you will represent civil society (particularly in the Diplo community), and will also be expected to consult and keep the community informed by posting to the Diplo community main blog at www.diplointernetgovernance.org

Please complete the information at the bottom of this message, and post as a blog post on Diplo’s IG social community at www.diplointernetgovernance.org BEFORE 1200 noon UTC on 7 December.

2. Community consensus

All nominations posted on the community blog by noon UTC on 7 December, will be included in the Diplo poll which will open at 1300 UTC 7 December, following procedures to be posted.

The entire Diplo community is encouraged to participate, to ensure the most complete community consensus possible. Voting will close at 2000 UTC on 9 December. The Diplo community results will be posted on the main blog at www.diplointernetgovernance.org and sent to the civil society coordination committee by 2359 UTC on 9 December.

3. Final Diplo community recommendations (endorsements) will be calculated using the following criteria:

40% - results of poll
20% - experience in IG global policy processes, including efforts such as IGF, APC, IGC, Diplo discussions, regional work and other work. Please describe these activities in your post
10% - ability to communicate in an effective manner, maintaining a position, and listening to others.
10% - perceived commitment to the public interest
10% - understanding of global and regional IG issues
10% - awareness of civil society issues, especially human rights issues

4. Information to be posted:

Full name:



Country of residence:


Background and/or experience in IG (50 words); feel free to include a link:

Motivation and goals (50 words):

If you have any suggestions, feedback, or questions, please post them to www.diplointernetgovernance.org, or e-mail me at virginiap@diplomacy.edu

Views: 275


You need to be a member of Diplo Internet Governance Community to add comments!

Join Diplo Internet Governance Community

Comment by S.P.ANANDAN on December 6, 2013 at 12:30pm

Dear Virginia Madam

Thank you for the information posted in the DIGC.  I have posted information nominating myself for the CS Representation. I hope the self nomination be considered and accepted.  Thank you

S.P.Anandan, India



Follow us

Website and downloads

Visit Diplo's IG website, www.diplomacy.edu/ig for info on programmes, events, and resources.

The full text of the book An Introduction to Internet Governance (6th edition) is available here. The translated versions in Serbian/BCS, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian, Chinese, and Portuguese are also available for download.


Karlene Francis (Jamaica)
Ivar Hartmann
Elona Taka (Albania)
Fahd Batayneh (Jordan)
Edward Muthiga (Kenya)
Nnenna Nwakanma (Côte d'Ivoire)
Xu Jing (China)
Gao Mosweu (Botswana)
Jamil Goheer (Pakistan)
Virginia (Ginger) Paque (Venezuela)
Tim Davies (UK)
Charity Gamboa-Embley (Philippines)
Rafik Dammak (Tunisia)
Jean-Yves Gatete (Burundi)
Guilherme Almeida (Brazil)
Magaly Pazello (Brazil)
Sergio Alves Júnior (Brazil)
Adela Danciu (Romania)
Simona Popa (Romania)
Marina Sokolova (Belarus)
Andreana Stankova (Bulgaria)
Vedran Djordjevic (Canada)
Maria Morozova (Ukraine)
David Kavanagh (Ireland)
Nino Gobronidze (Georgia)
Sorina Teleanu (Romania)
Cosmin Neagu (Romania)
Maja Rakovic (Serbia)
Elma Demir (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Tatiana Chirev (Moldova)
Maja Lubarda (Slovenia)
Babatope Soremi (Nigeria)
Marilia Maciel (Brazil)
Raquel Gatto (Brazil)
Andrés Piazza (Argentina)
Nevena Ruzic (Serbia)
Deirdre Williams (St. Lucia)
Maureen Hilyard (Cook Islands)
Monica Abalo (Argentina)
Emmanuel Edet (Nigeria)
Mwende Njiraini (Kenya)
Marsha Guthrie (Jamaica)
Kassim M. AL-Hassani (Iraq)
Marília Maciel (Brazil)
Alfonso Avila (Mexico)
Pascal Bekono (Cameroon)

© 2020   Created by Community Owner.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service