Diplo Internet Governance Community

Stay networked. Get informed. Broadcast your projects.

As you know, the Secretary-General of the United Nations established the Multistakeholder Advisory Group (MAG) to advise the Secretary General on the programme and schedule of the yearly IGF meetings. The MAG comprises 56 Members from governments, the private sector and civil society, including representatives from the academic and technical communities. The MAG holds meetings three times a year at the Palais des Nations in Geneva and is preceded by open consultations meetings.

Under-Secretary-General Wu Hongbo of UNDESA has issued a statement on the MAG renewal process for 2014. The deadline for submissions of nominations for the 2014 MAG is 1 December 2013.  The time is short, and we must act now to include MAG nominees.

DiploFoundation does not do advocacy work in IG; we work to strengthen informed multistakeholder participation, particularly from underrepresented groups and regions. This year, we again ask you to join us in supporting all stakeholder voices. One way to do this is to be involved in the selection of the Internet Governance Forum Multistakeholder Advisory Group (IGF MAG).

Once again, we ask that you put your expertise to use. If so inclined, volunteer to represent your countries and your communities; countries and communities that need more inclusive, multistakeholder global Internet governance. If you cannot serve yourself, please join in this process to encourage appropriate qualified people to step forward. After a short self-nomination period, until 21 November, we will ask this community to vote for candidates.

We encourage you to apply for a position on the IGF MAG if it is appropriate for you to do so. The deadline is short (21 November 2013), but we will again accelerate the process through an open call for inclusive governance. Here is the process:

1. Your application

You are asked to submit your own application to the IGF secretariat, including a short biographical background, and the reasons why you think that you can contribute to the MAG, whom you can represent (in terms of communities, ideas, projects), and what you would like to achieve. Self-nomination is important: it indicates willingness and self-confidence;  it has great legitimacy; and it is free from pressure, in the true spirit of volunteerism.  If you have not already done so, you must submit your nomination by e-mail to magrenewal2014@intgovforum.org using this submission template (also available from the IGF Secretariat’s website).

Please also complete the information at the bottom of this message, and post as a blog post on Diplo’s IG social community at www.diplointernetgovernance.org (here).

2. Community consensus

All nominations posted on the community blog by midnight UTC on 21 November, will be included in the Diplo poll which will open on 22 November, following procedures to be posted soon.

The entire Diplo community is encouraged to participate, to ensure the most complete community consensus possible. Voting will close at midnight UTC on 29 November.The Diplo community results will be posted on the main blog at www.diplointernetgovernance.org (here) and sent to UN DESA on 1 December.

3. Final Diplo community recommendations (endorsements) will be calculated using the following criteria:

40% - results of poll
20% - experience in IG global policy processes, including efforts such as APC, IGC, Diplo discussions, regional work and other work. Please describe these activities in your post
10% - representation from least developed countries
10% - representation from small island states
10% - representation from countries never before represented on the MAG
10% - gender (to support gender balance and more women on the MAG)

4. Final list of five candidates

We will send a final list of five candidates to the UN DESA, with the Diplo community’s recommendation/endorsement. 

Important: If you are selected, you will represent your organisation and your country. You will not represent Diplo. Diplo's role is simply to facilitate a more inclusive selection for the MAG.

5. Information to be posted:

Full name:



Country of residence:


Stakeholder group:

Background and/or experience in IG (50 words):

Motivation and goals (50 words):

Nominees must have experience in previous WSIS/IGF processes, and have sufficient time to dedicate to duties as a MAG member. Several meetings will be held before the IGF 2014 in Istanbul. Discussions take place by e-mail during the whole year of tenure, and nominees must have time available to attend to this volume of discussions promptly.

If you have any suggestions, feedback, or questions, please post them to www.diplointernetgovernance.org, or e-mail me at virginiap@diplomacy.edu.

Good luck to all!

Warm wishes,

Ginger (Virginia) Paque


Views: 416


You need to be a member of Diplo Internet Governance Community to add comments!

Join Diplo Internet Governance Community



Follow us

Website and downloads

Visit Diplo's IG website, www.diplomacy.edu/ig for info on programmes, events, and resources.

The full text of the book An Introduction to Internet Governance (6th edition) is available here. The translated versions in Serbian/BCS, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian, Chinese, and Portuguese are also available for download.


Karlene Francis (Jamaica)
Ivar Hartmann
Elona Taka (Albania)
Fahd Batayneh (Jordan)
Edward Muthiga (Kenya)
Nnenna Nwakanma (Côte d'Ivoire)
Xu Jing (China)
Gao Mosweu (Botswana)
Jamil Goheer (Pakistan)
Virginia (Ginger) Paque (Venezuela)
Tim Davies (UK)
Charity Gamboa-Embley (Philippines)
Rafik Dammak (Tunisia)
Jean-Yves Gatete (Burundi)
Guilherme Almeida (Brazil)
Magaly Pazello (Brazil)
Sergio Alves Júnior (Brazil)
Adela Danciu (Romania)
Simona Popa (Romania)
Marina Sokolova (Belarus)
Andreana Stankova (Bulgaria)
Vedran Djordjevic (Canada)
Maria Morozova (Ukraine)
David Kavanagh (Ireland)
Nino Gobronidze (Georgia)
Sorina Teleanu (Romania)
Cosmin Neagu (Romania)
Maja Rakovic (Serbia)
Elma Demir (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Tatiana Chirev (Moldova)
Maja Lubarda (Slovenia)
Babatope Soremi (Nigeria)
Marilia Maciel (Brazil)
Raquel Gatto (Brazil)
Andrés Piazza (Argentina)
Nevena Ruzic (Serbia)
Deirdre Williams (St. Lucia)
Maureen Hilyard (Cook Islands)
Monica Abalo (Argentina)
Emmanuel Edet (Nigeria)
Mwende Njiraini (Kenya)
Marsha Guthrie (Jamaica)
Kassim M. AL-Hassani (Iraq)
Marília Maciel (Brazil)
Alfonso Avila (Mexico)
Pascal Bekono (Cameroon)

© 2022   Created by Community Owner.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service