Diplo Internet Governance Community

Stay networked. Get informed. Broadcast your projects.

Invitation to comment on draft Chair statement of the GCCS (by today)

Civil society is invited to comment on the outcome document of the upcoming Global Conference on Cyberspace, which will take place at The Hague next week.

Comments must be submitted by end of the day - apologies for the short timeframe. There will be another (short) opportunity to comment on the consolidated response next week.



Dear friends,

[Apologies for cross-posting]

We would like to bring to your attention the call for civil society input on the outcome document for the Global Conference on Cyberspace 2015 (GCCS 2015), hosted by the government of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, and taking place in The Hague on 16 and 17 April 2015.

Following on from the London (2011), Budapest (2012), and Seoul (2013) Conferences - a series also known as the London Process, the 2015 event in The Hague will provide an opportunity for further high-level discussion of key cyberspace issues, structured around the three main themes of Freedom, Security and Growth. The Conference will be a stock-taking event, assessing the current global situation and mapping out the challenges and opportunities that lie ahead. By engaging governments, business, academia and civil society participants at the Conference, the organisers hope to find practical solutions to real and urgent challenges, and to progress the agenda of a free, open and secure internet.

Based on the assumption that all those who have a stake in cyberspace should be able to express their views and participate in a meaningful way, this year, the organisers are putting particular emphasis on facilitating multistakeholder engagement in the Conference. As part of an effort to achieve this, the Conference organisers are interested in getting Civil Society input on the draft outcome document of the Conference (The Chair’s Statement).

To submit your comments on the draft Chair’s Statement (HERE: http://tinyurl.com/lqp8knr), please complete this Google Form (link:http://goo.gl/forms/E72m3QTR1K) by COB Tuesday 7th April.

The consolidation of this input into a unified document to be presented to the Conference organisers will be coordinated by the GCCS2015 Advisory Board, which has been set up by the Conference organisers to help ensure the Conference is as inclusive and representative as possible.

In case you are unable to provide input at this stage, a call for a second round of comments on the unified document will be circulated in the week of the Conference.

If you would rather contact us directly with your comments, please write to aditi@gp-digital.org, answering the following 4 questions on the text:

1.     Sections of the text that you support being included in the final outcome document

2.     Areas of the text which could be strengthened

3.     Areas of the text that raise concerns

4.     Areas of the text where there are inconsistencies or that lack clarity

Feel free to share this call with your civil society networks.


On behalf of:

Andrew Puddephatt, Evelien Wijkstra, Tim Maurer

Advisory Board Co-chairs

Views: 107


You need to be a member of Diplo Internet Governance Community to add comments!

Join Diplo Internet Governance Community



Follow us

Website and downloads

Visit Diplo's IG website, www.diplomacy.edu/ig for info on programmes, events, and resources.

The full text of the book An Introduction to Internet Governance (6th edition) is available here. The translated versions in Serbian/BCS, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian, Chinese, and Portuguese are also available for download.


Karlene Francis (Jamaica)
Ivar Hartmann
Elona Taka (Albania)
Fahd Batayneh (Jordan)
Edward Muthiga (Kenya)
Nnenna Nwakanma (Côte d'Ivoire)
Xu Jing (China)
Gao Mosweu (Botswana)
Jamil Goheer (Pakistan)
Virginia (Ginger) Paque (Venezuela)
Tim Davies (UK)
Charity Gamboa-Embley (Philippines)
Rafik Dammak (Tunisia)
Jean-Yves Gatete (Burundi)
Guilherme Almeida (Brazil)
Magaly Pazello (Brazil)
Sergio Alves Júnior (Brazil)
Adela Danciu (Romania)
Simona Popa (Romania)
Marina Sokolova (Belarus)
Andreana Stankova (Bulgaria)
Vedran Djordjevic (Canada)
Maria Morozova (Ukraine)
David Kavanagh (Ireland)
Nino Gobronidze (Georgia)
Sorina Teleanu (Romania)
Cosmin Neagu (Romania)
Maja Rakovic (Serbia)
Elma Demir (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Tatiana Chirev (Moldova)
Maja Lubarda (Slovenia)
Babatope Soremi (Nigeria)
Marilia Maciel (Brazil)
Raquel Gatto (Brazil)
Andrés Piazza (Argentina)
Nevena Ruzic (Serbia)
Deirdre Williams (St. Lucia)
Maureen Hilyard (Cook Islands)
Monica Abalo (Argentina)
Emmanuel Edet (Nigeria)
Mwende Njiraini (Kenya)
Marsha Guthrie (Jamaica)
Kassim M. AL-Hassani (Iraq)
Marília Maciel (Brazil)
Alfonso Avila (Mexico)
Pascal Bekono (Cameroon)

© 2023   Created by Community Owner.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service