Diplo Internet Governance Community

Stay networked. Get informed. Broadcast your projects.

Invitation: Discussion on "Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies: technical, monetary, policy and development context"

The discussion on Bitcoins and digital currencies, including security and privacy issues, is quickly gaining ground. But what are digital currencies, and how do they work? What is the value of this ‘digital money’ and the economic impact? Most importantly, how secure and private are these transactions, and what is the role of cryptography in them?

DiploFoundation, in cooperation with the Swiss Bitcoin Association, is organising a not-to-be-missed discussion on some of the most pressing issues related to digital currencies. A Bitcoin ATM machine will be on display.

The discussion will be led by Diplo director Dr Jovan Kurbalija, with the participation of special guests:

  • Mathieu Buffenoir and Luzius Meisser from the Swiss Bitcoin Association;
  • Chiara von Gulten, from the commercial think-tank Z/Yen;
  • William Taborda from UNCTAD.

The panel will also discuss: are fluctuations in Bitcoin value important? What are the risks of an anonymous and decentralised currency system? How do regulators around the world react to cryptocurrencies? What is next?

The discussion will take place on Friday, 13th June, at 10:30 a.m. UTC/GMT, at WMO, 7bis, Avenue de la Paix, Geneva. Scroll down for the programme, for remote participation information, and for the registration link.

The event is taking place within the framework of the Geneva Internet Platform.


10:30 - 11:00 GMT
(12:30 - 13:00 CET)
Light refreshments with a Bitcoin ATM machine on display

11:00 - 12:00 GMT
(13:00 - 14:00 CET)

Welcome by Dr Jovan Kurbalija, Director, DiploFoundation and the Geneva Internet Platform
Contributions on political, technical, business and developmental aspects of Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies by Mathieu Buffenoir and Luzius Meisser (Swiss Bitcoin Association), Chiara von Gulten (Z/Yen) and William Taborda (UNCTAD). 

12:00 - 12:30 GMT
(14:00 - 14.30 CET)

Remote participation

Diplo is extending an invitation to all those who are not based in Geneva to participate remotely. Remote participants can interact with the panel during the discussion.

If you plan to join us remotely, please fill in the registration form below, and mark 'Online' where indicated on the form.


Attendance is free, but registration (for logistics and remote participation set-up purposes) is required. Please fill in the registration form. Registration closes on 10 June.

For more information or queries, e-mail us at gip@diplomacy.edu.

Views: 143


You need to be a member of Diplo Internet Governance Community to add comments!

Join Diplo Internet Governance Community



Follow us

Website and downloads

Visit Diplo's IG website, www.diplomacy.edu/ig for info on programmes, events, and resources.

The full text of the book An Introduction to Internet Governance (6th edition) is available here. The translated versions in Serbian/BCS, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian, Chinese, and Portuguese are also available for download.


Karlene Francis (Jamaica)
Ivar Hartmann
Elona Taka (Albania)
Fahd Batayneh (Jordan)
Edward Muthiga (Kenya)
Nnenna Nwakanma (Côte d'Ivoire)
Xu Jing (China)
Gao Mosweu (Botswana)
Jamil Goheer (Pakistan)
Virginia (Ginger) Paque (Venezuela)
Tim Davies (UK)
Charity Gamboa-Embley (Philippines)
Rafik Dammak (Tunisia)
Jean-Yves Gatete (Burundi)
Guilherme Almeida (Brazil)
Magaly Pazello (Brazil)
Sergio Alves Júnior (Brazil)
Adela Danciu (Romania)
Simona Popa (Romania)
Marina Sokolova (Belarus)
Andreana Stankova (Bulgaria)
Vedran Djordjevic (Canada)
Maria Morozova (Ukraine)
David Kavanagh (Ireland)
Nino Gobronidze (Georgia)
Sorina Teleanu (Romania)
Cosmin Neagu (Romania)
Maja Rakovic (Serbia)
Elma Demir (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Tatiana Chirev (Moldova)
Maja Lubarda (Slovenia)
Babatope Soremi (Nigeria)
Marilia Maciel (Brazil)
Raquel Gatto (Brazil)
Andrés Piazza (Argentina)
Nevena Ruzic (Serbia)
Deirdre Williams (St. Lucia)
Maureen Hilyard (Cook Islands)
Monica Abalo (Argentina)
Emmanuel Edet (Nigeria)
Mwende Njiraini (Kenya)
Marsha Guthrie (Jamaica)
Kassim M. AL-Hassani (Iraq)
Marília Maciel (Brazil)
Alfonso Avila (Mexico)
Pascal Bekono (Cameroon)

© 2020   Created by Community Owner.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service