Diplo Internet Governance Community

Stay networked. Get informed. Broadcast your projects.

Thanks to Diplo for providing this platform. As I only joined the MAG in mid-2012 I would like to continue for another 
year. Some current MAG members have already started working on suggestions making the MAG a more
efficient, inclusive and accountable body and I would like to be part of this process.

Best regards

Full name: Anriette Esterhuysen
Gender: Female

Nationality: South African

Country of residence: South Africa
Organisation: Association for Progressive Communications
Stakeholder group: Civil society
Background and/or experience in IG (50 words):
Active in WSIS, global IGFs, Human Rights Council, CSTD and the OECD and in national spaces. Part of the
organising teams of the Southern African (2011) and African (2012) IGFs. I was a member of the CSTD Working
Group on IGF Improvements from 2011-12. I try to follow CS internet governance caucus list but cannot always keep

Motivation and goals (50 words):
Being new on the MAG I feel my work has only just started. My goals:
(1) A MAG that works as a team made up not of rigid constituency groups that stand for fixed positions but of
individuals who listen to the IGF community, take seriously what they hear, and then ensures that these ideas and
issues are reflected in the annual event.
(2) A more inclusive and influential IGF. There is middle-ground between 'outcomes' (which I think are good) and 
'negotiating policy' (which I agree is not the role of the IGF).

(3) A MAG and an IGF in which multistakeholder participation goes hand in hand with critical thinking, respect and
acknowledgement of the differences among stakeholders/individuals, and different regions of the world, along with
space for vigorous debate
(4) An IGF which evolves, provides opportunity for learning, and where new faces and voices broadens debates while
continuity provides opportunity for deepening of debate on issues that resurface year after year, such as 'enhanced
cooperation', 'human rights', and 'development'.

My approach to IG is holistic and based on the notion that the internet is becoming a global public good. It is hard to
separate internet issues from, for example, regulation of the telecoms sector, protection of freedom of speech, or
ensuring an open and competitive ICT sector that makes it easy for anyone to innovate and participate in internet
development. I use free and open source software and believe that open standards should be at the centre of internet
governance and development.

Views: 139


You need to be a member of Diplo Internet Governance Community to add comments!

Join Diplo Internet Governance Community

Comment by Diplo IGCBP on January 15, 2013 at 12:01pm

Thanks Anju for your endorsement! The nomination process closes tonight, after which the voting will start. More info on this very soon. When voting starts, could you post your endorsement via the online poll please? You will also be invited to vote for four other names (total of 5) which you would like to be endorsed by this community. If you have questions about the procedure, just let me know.

Comment by Anju Mangal on January 14, 2013 at 10:58pm

I support and endorse this nomination. Cheers



Follow us

Website and downloads

Visit Diplo's IG website, www.diplomacy.edu/ig for info on programmes, events, and resources.

The full text of the book An Introduction to Internet Governance (6th edition) is available here. The translated versions in Serbian/BCS, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian, Chinese, and Portuguese are also available for download.


Karlene Francis (Jamaica)
Ivar Hartmann
Elona Taka (Albania)
Fahd Batayneh (Jordan)
Edward Muthiga (Kenya)
Nnenna Nwakanma (Côte d'Ivoire)
Xu Jing (China)
Gao Mosweu (Botswana)
Jamil Goheer (Pakistan)
Virginia (Ginger) Paque (Venezuela)
Tim Davies (UK)
Charity Gamboa-Embley (Philippines)
Rafik Dammak (Tunisia)
Jean-Yves Gatete (Burundi)
Guilherme Almeida (Brazil)
Magaly Pazello (Brazil)
Sergio Alves Júnior (Brazil)
Adela Danciu (Romania)
Simona Popa (Romania)
Marina Sokolova (Belarus)
Andreana Stankova (Bulgaria)
Vedran Djordjevic (Canada)
Maria Morozova (Ukraine)
David Kavanagh (Ireland)
Nino Gobronidze (Georgia)
Sorina Teleanu (Romania)
Cosmin Neagu (Romania)
Maja Rakovic (Serbia)
Elma Demir (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Tatiana Chirev (Moldova)
Maja Lubarda (Slovenia)
Babatope Soremi (Nigeria)
Marilia Maciel (Brazil)
Raquel Gatto (Brazil)
Andrés Piazza (Argentina)
Nevena Ruzic (Serbia)
Deirdre Williams (St. Lucia)
Maureen Hilyard (Cook Islands)
Monica Abalo (Argentina)
Emmanuel Edet (Nigeria)
Mwende Njiraini (Kenya)
Marsha Guthrie (Jamaica)
Kassim M. AL-Hassani (Iraq)
Marília Maciel (Brazil)
Alfonso Avila (Mexico)
Pascal Bekono (Cameroon)

© 2020   Created by Community Owner.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service