Diplo Internet Governance Community

Stay networked. Get informed. Broadcast your projects.

Global Satellite Conference in Uganda

At least 200 foreign dignitaries and diplomats, including ministers responsible for ICT, are expected to attend this four-day event scheduled for July 3-6, government ministries,telecom operators, researchers  academics, and diplomats accredited to Uganda, will attend the opening cermnony.

The agenda of the International Telecommunications Satellite Organization (ITSO) is to discuss equitable access to satellite technology in developing countries and the future of the ITSO among others. ITSO is an intergovernmental organization charged with overseeing the public service obligations of Intelsat, Ltd.The 150- member state organization, to which Uganda is a member, works to ensure that the Intelsat provides public telecommunications service,including voice, data and video on global and non-discriminatory basis.. ITSO was established in 1971 through an inter-governmental agreement to provide, on a commercial and non-discriminatory basis, global public international telecommunications services using satellite technology.The development in itself was an implementation of the UN General Assembly resolution 1721 (XVI) regarding the universal access to communication by means of satellite.

"Ministerial round-table debate to discuss policy and regulatory issues regarding satellite communication was also on the agenda". 

I attended the conference and it was enjoyable.

Views: 76


You need to be a member of Diplo Internet Governance Community to add comments!

Join Diplo Internet Governance Community



Follow us

Website and downloads

Visit Diplo's IG website, www.diplomacy.edu/ig for info on programmes, events, and resources.

The full text of the book An Introduction to Internet Governance (6th edition) is available here. The translated versions in Serbian/BCS, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian, Chinese, and Portuguese are also available for download.


Karlene Francis (Jamaica)
Ivar Hartmann
Elona Taka (Albania)
Fahd Batayneh (Jordan)
Edward Muthiga (Kenya)
Nnenna Nwakanma (Côte d'Ivoire)
Xu Jing (China)
Gao Mosweu (Botswana)
Jamil Goheer (Pakistan)
Virginia (Ginger) Paque (Venezuela)
Tim Davies (UK)
Charity Gamboa-Embley (Philippines)
Rafik Dammak (Tunisia)
Jean-Yves Gatete (Burundi)
Guilherme Almeida (Brazil)
Magaly Pazello (Brazil)
Sergio Alves Júnior (Brazil)
Adela Danciu (Romania)
Simona Popa (Romania)
Marina Sokolova (Belarus)
Andreana Stankova (Bulgaria)
Vedran Djordjevic (Canada)
Maria Morozova (Ukraine)
David Kavanagh (Ireland)
Nino Gobronidze (Georgia)
Sorina Teleanu (Romania)
Cosmin Neagu (Romania)
Maja Rakovic (Serbia)
Elma Demir (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Tatiana Chirev (Moldova)
Maja Lubarda (Slovenia)
Babatope Soremi (Nigeria)
Marilia Maciel (Brazil)
Raquel Gatto (Brazil)
Andrés Piazza (Argentina)
Nevena Ruzic (Serbia)
Deirdre Williams (St. Lucia)
Maureen Hilyard (Cook Islands)
Monica Abalo (Argentina)
Emmanuel Edet (Nigeria)
Mwende Njiraini (Kenya)
Marsha Guthrie (Jamaica)
Kassim M. AL-Hassani (Iraq)
Marília Maciel (Brazil)
Alfonso Avila (Mexico)
Pascal Bekono (Cameroon)

© 2019   Created by Community Owner.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service