Diplo Internet Governance Community

Stay networked. Get informed. Broadcast your projects.

eIndia 2009, Hyderabad International Convention Centre, Hyderabad, India

eIndia 2009, the fifth one in the series of very popular conferences organised by Centre for Science Development and Media Studies (CSDMS), is scheduled to take place from 25th to 27th August, 2009 at Hyderabad International Convention Centre, Hyderabad, India. This conference is co-organised by the Department of Information Technology, Ministry of Communications and Information Technology, Government of India; and Information Technology & Communication Department, Government of Andhra Pradesh is the State Host Partner of this event.

Hyderabad, the capital of Andhra Pradesh, is a city with an illustrious past and a promising present and future in the IT sector. It is also world famous for its 'Hyderabadi Cuisine', specially 'biryani' (a special rice dish!!). So, the delegates attending this conference have the opportunity to observe, discuss, partner, network and also dine with like minded people from India and abroad.

eIndia 2009, just like its predecessors, is a three-day international conference and exhibition organised annually by CSDMS. It is a unique platform for knowledge sharing in different domains of ICT for development and facilitates multi-stakeholder partnerships and networking among governments, industry, academia and civil society organisations from different countries, including the host country- India.

The main attractions of this conference are five parallel tracks on: egov India, digital learning India, eHealth India, eAgriculture India and Indian Telecentre Forum or ITF. As their names suggest, these tracks focus on five emerging application domains of ICT for Development, i.e., governance, education, health, agriculture and telecentres-- the physical structures that allow access to ICTs and are also the delivery points for services offered in the four areas mentioned earlier, specially in rural areas.

Although the telecentre domain, as witnessed by the proliferation of groups on the telecentre.org site, covers all the issues that would be discussed in the parallel tracks of the conference, the Indian Telecentre Forum (ITF) would be of special interest to the telecentre community. The conference will also serve as an exhibition host to some of the latest e-solutions, services, initiatives and case studies from across India and beyond.

The eIndia 2009 Awards being organised as part of the event aim to honour the distinguished professionals and institutions working in the domains of e-Agriculture, e-Governance, Digital Learning, eHealth, Telecentre and Municipal IT. It would confer 'Telecentre awards' for: a) Innovative grassroots telecentre of the year, b) Government/ policy initiative of the year, and c) Civil society/development agency initiative of the year.

The Award selection process will go through a dual process of Jury as well as public voting system.The online voting has started from 1st August 2009 and closes on 20th August 2009. The selected winners will be invited to the Award giving ceremony of eINDIA 2009 conference. Please visit the eIndia 2009 website and vote for the best ICT initiatives from around the world.

Also, please plan your calenders according to the event's schedule and make it a point to attend eIndia 2009. Registration of participants is still open and there is also on the spot registration facilities for those reaching Hyderabad on 25th August, 2009. For more details, please visit: Indian Telecentre Forum and telecentre.org Events

eIndia 2009 is also on twitter, facebook and linked in

See you in Hyderabad!

Views: 139


You need to be a member of Diplo Internet Governance Community to add comments!

Join Diplo Internet Governance Community

Comment by VISHAL GAUTAM on August 9, 2009 at 9:39am
Hi Shipra
I have few questions regarding eIndia 2009
How do entrepreneurs are represented in eindia2009?
and how do I get my entrepreneur friends in knowledge industry to attend this?



Follow us

Website and downloads

Visit Diplo's IG website, www.diplomacy.edu/ig for info on programmes, events, and resources.

The full text of the book An Introduction to Internet Governance (6th edition) is available here. The translated versions in Serbian/BCS, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian, Chinese, and Portuguese are also available for download.


Karlene Francis (Jamaica)
Ivar Hartmann
Elona Taka (Albania)
Fahd Batayneh (Jordan)
Edward Muthiga (Kenya)
Nnenna Nwakanma (Côte d'Ivoire)
Xu Jing (China)
Gao Mosweu (Botswana)
Jamil Goheer (Pakistan)
Virginia (Ginger) Paque (Venezuela)
Tim Davies (UK)
Charity Gamboa-Embley (Philippines)
Rafik Dammak (Tunisia)
Jean-Yves Gatete (Burundi)
Guilherme Almeida (Brazil)
Magaly Pazello (Brazil)
Sergio Alves Júnior (Brazil)
Adela Danciu (Romania)
Simona Popa (Romania)
Marina Sokolova (Belarus)
Andreana Stankova (Bulgaria)
Vedran Djordjevic (Canada)
Maria Morozova (Ukraine)
David Kavanagh (Ireland)
Nino Gobronidze (Georgia)
Sorina Teleanu (Romania)
Cosmin Neagu (Romania)
Maja Rakovic (Serbia)
Elma Demir (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Tatiana Chirev (Moldova)
Maja Lubarda (Slovenia)
Babatope Soremi (Nigeria)
Marilia Maciel (Brazil)
Raquel Gatto (Brazil)
Andrés Piazza (Argentina)
Nevena Ruzic (Serbia)
Deirdre Williams (St. Lucia)
Maureen Hilyard (Cook Islands)
Monica Abalo (Argentina)
Emmanuel Edet (Nigeria)
Mwende Njiraini (Kenya)
Marsha Guthrie (Jamaica)
Kassim M. AL-Hassani (Iraq)
Marília Maciel (Brazil)
Alfonso Avila (Mexico)
Pascal Bekono (Cameroon)

© 2022   Created by Community Owner.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service