Diplo Internet Governance Community

Stay networked. Get informed. Broadcast your projects.

DiploCommunity results for 2013 MAG endorsement

Dear colleagues,

Recognising the need for community input and diversification of the stakeholder presence on the MAG, we made a short call for nominations, encouraging more participants in the IG process to self-nominate to the UN DESA/IGF Secretariat, and to post their information to our community site at www.diplointernetgovernance.org for consideration for endorsement by the Diplo community.

Endorsement of MAG nominees from the DiploFoundation community is based on the following factors:

50% - Results of a short community poll (here) Password is DiploMAG2013

Additional Positive weighting (affirmative action, applying 'reverse' discrimination in an effort to balance preexisting or perceived discriminatory factors -- including subjective qualification)

+ up to 10% - IG experience and informal calculation of competence and experience in IG (including quality and level of engagement in IG policy processes, based on a review by a Diplo internal committee)

+ 10% - Nominees from least developing countries (to encourage participation from LCDs; also a practical reason since many bilateral donors would support participation from LDCs) (using http://www.un.org/esa/policy/devplan/profile/ldc_list.pdf )

+ 10% - Nominees from small island developing states; since Diplo's early days in Malta, support for small island states has been a Diplo development priority; they are under-represented, and highly dependent on the Internet (in part, due to the geographical remoteness) (using http://www.un.org/special-rep/ohrlls/sid/list.htm )

+ 10% -representation from countries never before represented at the MAG

+ 10% - Support for women in IG processes, in particular, the MAG

The list of endorsements, compiled using these criteria, has been sent to the UN DESA and IGF Secretariat. Endorsed candidates will not represent Diplo in any way. In accordance with our statutes and mission, we are facilitating this process with the aim to build capacity and increase inclusiveness in global policy-making processes.

The complete list of nominees considered for Diplo endorsement (their details are available on the main blog at www.diplointernetgovernance.org):

Angelic Caroline Alihusain-del Castilho (Suriname)
Fatima Cambronero (Argentina)
Adela Danciu (Romania)
Jeremy Malcom (Malaysia)
Juan Manuel Rojas Piedrahita (Colombia)
Ma Ruiqing (China)
Baudouin Schombe (DR Congo)
Arsene Tungali (DR Congo)
Bonface Witaba (Kenya)
Desireee Zachariah (Antigua and Barbuda)

 Since the final calculations were very close, six candidates have been endorsed.

The candidates recommended to the UN DESA/IGF Secretariat by the Diplo Community are (in alphabetical order):

Angelic Caroline Alihusain-del Castilho (Suriname)
Fatima Cambronero (Argentina))
Adela Danciu (Romania)
Juan Manuel Rojas Piedrahita (Colombia)
Baudouin Schombe (DR Congo)
Desireee Zachariah (Antigua and Barbuda)


The calculation spreadsheet is available for review. Please email me at Virginiap@diplomacy.edu if you would like to review it.

A clear majority asked that Diplo include a request that the IGF Secretariat/UNDESA allow continuation for any 2012 MAG members who would like to continue, and have been active in completing their responsibilities. In particular, the DiploCommunity requests that Itzumi Aizu, Valeria Betancourt, Raul Echeberria, Anriette Esterhuysen, Vladimir Radunovic and Graciela Selaimen continue on the MAG.

Congratulations to everyone who is postulating for the MAG positions, and thanks to everyone who participated in the poll. Remember, even those who are not endorsed by the Diplo Community will still be considered by the Nominating Committee at UN DESA/IGF Secretariat.

Best regards,

Diplo Foundation
Internet Governance Capacity Building Programme

Views: 325


You need to be a member of Diplo Internet Governance Community to add comments!

Join Diplo Internet Governance Community

Comment by Adela Danciu on January 23, 2013 at 2:48pm

I would like to add my thanks to the Diplo community - your trust honours me and motivates me further in my work. Congratulations to all nominees and good luck to all endorsed candidates!

Comment by Juan Manuel Rojas on January 22, 2013 at 5:13am

I want to also say Thank You Very Much to all Diplo Community for vote us, and also give a big hug to all nominees. Thanks to Diplo for give us this opportunity and to open this spaces to let include people. Now just we will have to wait.

Thanks to all people who voted for me! It is an honor be on that list. Congrats to all nominees too!

Comment by Angelic Alihusain-del Castilho on January 21, 2013 at 6:45pm
Thank you for the endorsement Diplo and a great thank you to all who voted for me. Congratulations to all other nominees and who knows we may all end up working together!
Comment by Stephanie on January 21, 2013 at 1:13pm

Hats off to you Arsene, that's the spirit!

Comment by Arsene Tungali on January 21, 2013 at 1:03pm

Thanks for the final results and congs to all nominees. I hank those who voted for me! I am glad my country fellow Baudouin Schombe has been selected!



Follow us

Website and downloads

Visit Diplo's IG website, www.diplomacy.edu/ig for info on programmes, events, and resources.

The full text of the book An Introduction to Internet Governance (6th edition) is available here. The translated versions in Serbian/BCS, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian, Chinese, and Portuguese are also available for download.


Karlene Francis (Jamaica)
Ivar Hartmann
Elona Taka (Albania)
Fahd Batayneh (Jordan)
Edward Muthiga (Kenya)
Nnenna Nwakanma (Côte d'Ivoire)
Xu Jing (China)
Gao Mosweu (Botswana)
Jamil Goheer (Pakistan)
Virginia (Ginger) Paque (Venezuela)
Tim Davies (UK)
Charity Gamboa-Embley (Philippines)
Rafik Dammak (Tunisia)
Jean-Yves Gatete (Burundi)
Guilherme Almeida (Brazil)
Magaly Pazello (Brazil)
Sergio Alves Júnior (Brazil)
Adela Danciu (Romania)
Simona Popa (Romania)
Marina Sokolova (Belarus)
Andreana Stankova (Bulgaria)
Vedran Djordjevic (Canada)
Maria Morozova (Ukraine)
David Kavanagh (Ireland)
Nino Gobronidze (Georgia)
Sorina Teleanu (Romania)
Cosmin Neagu (Romania)
Maja Rakovic (Serbia)
Elma Demir (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Tatiana Chirev (Moldova)
Maja Lubarda (Slovenia)
Babatope Soremi (Nigeria)
Marilia Maciel (Brazil)
Raquel Gatto (Brazil)
Andrés Piazza (Argentina)
Nevena Ruzic (Serbia)
Deirdre Williams (St. Lucia)
Maureen Hilyard (Cook Islands)
Monica Abalo (Argentina)
Emmanuel Edet (Nigeria)
Mwende Njiraini (Kenya)
Marsha Guthrie (Jamaica)
Kassim M. AL-Hassani (Iraq)
Marília Maciel (Brazil)
Alfonso Avila (Mexico)
Pascal Bekono (Cameroon)

© 2020   Created by Community Owner.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service