Diplo Internet Governance Community

Stay networked. Get informed. Broadcast your projects.

A New Dynamic Coalition on Platform Responsibility within the IGF

Two weeks ago, the Secretariat of the United Nations’ Internet Governance Forum (IGF) approved the creation of the Dynamic Coalition on Platform Responsibility (DC PR). This new component of the IGF will provide a discussion arena aimed at the analysis of the relations between internationally recognised Human Rights and online platforms’ Terms of Service (ToS).

The ultimate goal of the DC PR will be to elaborate concrete solutions aimed at promoting responsibility in the adoption of ToS so as to ensure respect for platform users’ human rights. The proposed solutions, to be developed through an open and multi-stakeholder process, will complement initiatives such as the Council of Europe Guide to Human Rights for Internet Users, the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises, the UN Global Compact, the ISO 26000 Social Responsibility Standards, the UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights and the European Union’s Sector Guidance to the implementation of those principles.

Specifically, the DC PR will aim at developing guidance for responsible conduct by online platforms through the formulation of model contract clauses able to protect the interests of both commercial and non-commercial internet users, in accordance with the existing framework of international law, including human rights law.

To read more, see: http://www.medialaws.eu/a-new-dynamic-coalition-on-platform-respons...

Views: 235


You need to be a member of Diplo Internet Governance Community to add comments!

Join Diplo Internet Governance Community

Comment by Analia Aspis on July 4, 2014 at 4:54am

Dear Luca,

Absolutely, you are right !



Comment by Luca Belli on July 3, 2014 at 11:28pm

Hi Analia,

Actually, there is no call for papers regarding the DC PR.

I think you are confusing the DC PR with the DC on Network Neutrality, which has an ongoing call for papers.

If you are interested in submitting a paper for the DC NN annual report you can obviously send your proposal until 10 July.



Comment by Analia Aspis on July 3, 2014 at 5:03pm

Dear Luca,

Is it possible to present the paper for the call with two authors (Argentina-India)

Kind regards,


Comment by Analia Aspis on July 1, 2014 at 8:36am

Dear Luca,

Thank you for your quick answer! For sure I will then write to the group :) and make my advice/comment on the web site. I send you a friend invitiation so we can keep in contact :)

Comment by Luca Belli on July 1, 2014 at 8:31am

Hi Analia,

Dynamic Coalition membership is open to all interested stakeholders: you simply need to send an email to contact@platformresponsibility.info specifying your name and affiliation (or the name of your organisation, if you want to join on behalf of your organisation).

Also, please note that we are currently building the DC PR website ( see: http://platformresponsibility.info/  ). You can suggest any relevant article, paper, etc. to be linked on the sources page of the website, should you be interested.

All the best


Comment by Analia Aspis on July 1, 2014 at 6:50am

Dear Luca,

Is still possible to request to be a stakeholder? I would like so much to be part of the academia group as an LatinAmerican researcher.

Looking forward to hearing from you,

Kind regards,




Follow us

Website and downloads

Visit Diplo's IG website, www.diplomacy.edu/ig for info on programmes, events, and resources.

The full text of the book An Introduction to Internet Governance (6th edition) is available here. The translated versions in Serbian/BCS, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian, Chinese, and Portuguese are also available for download.


Karlene Francis (Jamaica)
Ivar Hartmann
Elona Taka (Albania)
Fahd Batayneh (Jordan)
Edward Muthiga (Kenya)
Nnenna Nwakanma (Côte d'Ivoire)
Xu Jing (China)
Gao Mosweu (Botswana)
Jamil Goheer (Pakistan)
Virginia (Ginger) Paque (Venezuela)
Tim Davies (UK)
Charity Gamboa-Embley (Philippines)
Rafik Dammak (Tunisia)
Jean-Yves Gatete (Burundi)
Guilherme Almeida (Brazil)
Magaly Pazello (Brazil)
Sergio Alves Júnior (Brazil)
Adela Danciu (Romania)
Simona Popa (Romania)
Marina Sokolova (Belarus)
Andreana Stankova (Bulgaria)
Vedran Djordjevic (Canada)
Maria Morozova (Ukraine)
David Kavanagh (Ireland)
Nino Gobronidze (Georgia)
Sorina Teleanu (Romania)
Cosmin Neagu (Romania)
Maja Rakovic (Serbia)
Elma Demir (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Tatiana Chirev (Moldova)
Maja Lubarda (Slovenia)
Babatope Soremi (Nigeria)
Marilia Maciel (Brazil)
Raquel Gatto (Brazil)
Andrés Piazza (Argentina)
Nevena Ruzic (Serbia)
Deirdre Williams (St. Lucia)
Maureen Hilyard (Cook Islands)
Monica Abalo (Argentina)
Emmanuel Edet (Nigeria)
Mwende Njiraini (Kenya)
Marsha Guthrie (Jamaica)
Kassim M. AL-Hassani (Iraq)
Marília Maciel (Brazil)
Alfonso Avila (Mexico)
Pascal Bekono (Cameroon)

© 2023   Created by Community Owner.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service