Diplo Internet Governance Community

Stay networked. Get informed. Broadcast your projects.

DiploFoundation has been a key resource partner in an executive training programme delivered in Botswana, Africa.

The programme, ¨Building SADC Capacity in Internet Governance¨, was organised by the Centre of Specialisation in Public Administration and Management (CESPAM), upon a request from the Southern African Development Community (SADC) countries. The training programme, supported by the Commonwealth Secretariat, was held on August 19-22 in Gaborone, Botswana.

The four-day seminar was attended by 15 participants, including government officials, regulatory authorities, business and civil society representatives from SADC countries. Through highly interactive sessions consisting of lectures, discussion panels, cases and simulations, a thorough understanding of the meaning of Internet Governance was provided. Key global challenges and processes have also been identified, while the African perspective has been discussed and analysed in detail.

At the end, participants came up with their own recommendations on the issues, and with actions of highest priority for the SADC region. The participants also came up with many ideas for a way forward and for follow-up activities for Africa.

For more information, contact Vladimir Radunovic: vladar [at] diplomacy.edu

Views: 54


You need to be a member of Diplo Internet Governance Community to add comments!

Join Diplo Internet Governance Community



Follow us

Website and downloads

Visit Diplo's IG website, www.diplomacy.edu/ig for info on programmes, events, and resources.

The full text of the book An Introduction to Internet Governance (6th edition) is available here. The translated versions in Serbian/BCS, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian, Chinese, and Portuguese are also available for download.


Karlene Francis (Jamaica)
Ivar Hartmann
Elona Taka (Albania)
Fahd Batayneh (Jordan)
Edward Muthiga (Kenya)
Nnenna Nwakanma (Côte d'Ivoire)
Xu Jing (China)
Gao Mosweu (Botswana)
Jamil Goheer (Pakistan)
Virginia (Ginger) Paque (Venezuela)
Tim Davies (UK)
Charity Gamboa-Embley (Philippines)
Rafik Dammak (Tunisia)
Jean-Yves Gatete (Burundi)
Guilherme Almeida (Brazil)
Magaly Pazello (Brazil)
Sergio Alves Júnior (Brazil)
Adela Danciu (Romania)
Simona Popa (Romania)
Marina Sokolova (Belarus)
Andreana Stankova (Bulgaria)
Vedran Djordjevic (Canada)
Maria Morozova (Ukraine)
David Kavanagh (Ireland)
Nino Gobronidze (Georgia)
Sorina Teleanu (Romania)
Cosmin Neagu (Romania)
Maja Rakovic (Serbia)
Elma Demir (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Tatiana Chirev (Moldova)
Maja Lubarda (Slovenia)
Babatope Soremi (Nigeria)
Marilia Maciel (Brazil)
Raquel Gatto (Brazil)
Andrés Piazza (Argentina)
Nevena Ruzic (Serbia)
Deirdre Williams (St. Lucia)
Maureen Hilyard (Cook Islands)
Monica Abalo (Argentina)
Emmanuel Edet (Nigeria)
Mwende Njiraini (Kenya)
Marsha Guthrie (Jamaica)
Kassim M. AL-Hassani (Iraq)
Marília Maciel (Brazil)
Alfonso Avila (Mexico)
Pascal Bekono (Cameroon)

© 2021   Created by Community Owner.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service